## **November 13, 2024**

The Mahaska County Board of Supervisors met at a work session on the above date at 5:30 p.m. in the third-floor conference room of the Mahaska County Courthouse. Present were the following board members: Chairman – Mark Groenendyk, Vice-Chair Steve Wanders and Member – Chuck Webb. Also present were Russ Van Renterghem Sheriff; Andrew Ritland, County Attorney; Doug Greenlee, Eddyville Mayor; Sherri Baxter, Fremont Mayor; Andy Sytsma, Leighton Mayor; George Toubekis, University Park Mayor; Chad Bin, Ron Kauffman, Darrell Rust, Richard Thomas, Anthony Lettington, Bruce Vroegh, Travis Albertson, Barb DeGeest, Dollie Horn, Mark DeJong, Brian Sierens, Earl Ratcliff, Rob Dannels, Lorie Jager, Julia Newcomb, Diana Roberts, Sarah Kargol, Maddison Denny, Jeff Wilford, Oskaloosa Herald; Ken Allsup, Osky News and Teri Rogers, County Auditor.

Discussion centered around the letter that the BOS mailed to the mayors regarding 28E agreements for police protection. The mayors asked for clarification on what their county tax dollars for sheriff's duties are paying for versus what police protection will cover.

| No action was taken.   |                                  |
|------------------------|----------------------------------|
| Attest:                |                                  |
| Teri Rogers            | Mark Groenendyk                  |
| Mahaska County Auditor | Mahaska Co. Board of Supervisors |