September 16, 2011

The Mahaska County Board of Supervisors met in special session on the above date at 9:00 a.m. in the third floor conference room of the Mahaska County courthouse. Present were the following board members: Chairman – Henry W. VanWeelden; member Ken Rozenboom. Absent was Greg Gordy, vice chairman. Also present were the following: Ken Allsup, Charlie Comfort; Don Hubbard; all from Osky News; and Kay Swanson, Mahaska County Auditor.

Chairman VanWeelden called the meeting to order with a moment of silence.

It was moved by Rozenboom seconded by VanWeelden to approve the agenda for today's meeting. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

County Auditor and Commissioner of Elections, Kay Swanson reported that there were 13817 voters eligible to vote in the following school districts in Mahaska County on September 13, 2011. There were 89 absentee voters and all were returned but 1.

Fremont Community School District 720 registered voters. (Mahaska County 648; Keokuk County 72)

Two directors to be elected.

113 cast their ballot for Tom Judy97 cast their ballot for Gary L. Mitterer52 cast their ballot for Misti Vansteenwyk6 votes were scattering

Indian Hills Community College 720 registered voters Director #6 104 cast their ballot for Kevin M. Kness 1 vote was scattering

Public Measure"B"

Shall the following public measure be adopted?

That the Eddyville-Blakesburg Community School District and the Fremont Community School District shall be merged into a newly reorganized school district to be know as Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont Community School District. That the district shall be governed by a board of directors of seven (7) members, all of whom shall be elected from subdistricts by only residents of the subdistrict.

That the territory of the district shall be described in the legal description posted at the polling places. All assets and liabilities of the two districts will be combined.

91 cast their ballot – Yes

60 cast their ballot – No

North Mahaska Community School District 2093 registered voters. Mahaska County Poweshiek County Director District #1 – 474 registered voters
12 cast their ballot for Michael Fisher
27 cast their ballot for Sherrill L. Strobel
Director District #2 – 468 registered voters 33 cast their ballot for Dirk Wilkin
Director District #3 - 337 registered voters 10 cast their ballot for Christina Layman
Public Measure "C" 2093 registered voters Shall the following public measure be adopted?

Shall the Board of Directors of the North Mahaska Community School District in the Counties of Mahaska and Poweshiek, State of Iowa, be authorized for a period of five (5) years to levy and impose an instructional support tax in an amount (after taking into consideration instructional support state aid) of not exceeding ten percent (10%) of the total of regular program district cost for the budget year and moneys received under Iowa Code section 257.14 as a budget adjustment in the budget year, and be authorized annually, in combination, as determined by the Board, to levy a combination of an instructional support property tax upon all the taxable property within the School District commencing with the levy of property taxes for collection in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2013 and to impose an instructional support income surtax upon the state individual income tax of each individual income taxpayer resident in the School District on December 31 for each for each calendar year commencing with calendar year 2012, or each year thereafter, the percent of income surtax to be determined by the Board for each fiscal year, to be used for any general fund purpose.

> Public Measure "C" Yes 43 votes No 7 votes

Oskaloosa Community School District 11004 registered voters. Director District #1 Nik Rule – 576 votes Scattering – 11 votes Director District #3 Laurie Palmer – 606 votes Scattering – 28 votes Director District #4 Charlie Comfort – 435 votes Donald W. Patterson – 317 votes Scattering – 0 votes Director District #6 Tom Richardson – 598 votes Scattering – 3 votes

Indian Hills Community College Director #2 616 cast their ballot for John Pothoven 4 votes were scattering

It was moved by Rozenboom seconded by VanWeelden to approve the canvass of the School Board Election held in the Fremont Community School District; North Mahaska Community School District; Oskaloosa Community School District and Indian Hills Community School District. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

It was moved by Rozenboom seconded by VanWeelden to adjourn. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

Henry W.VanWeelden, Chairman Mahaska County Board of Supervisors

ATTEST: ____

Kay Swanson, Mahaska County Auditor