## **December 7. 2009**

The Mahaska County Board of Supervisors met on the above date in regular session at 9:00 a.m. in the third floor conference room of the Mahaska County courthouse. Present were the following board members: Chairman – Greg Gordy, vice chairman – Lawrence Rouw and member – Henry W.VanWeelden. Also present were the following: Duane Nollen, Oskaloosa Herald; Greg Life, Oskaloosa Attorney, Raymond and Jeri Robinson, Julie Bak, Mahaska County CPC; Sone Scott, Mahaska County Treasurer; Jerome Nusbaum, Mahaska County Engineer; Brad Reiman; Bearence Management Group; Lindy A. Pearson, National Pharmaceutical Services and Kay Swanson, Mahaska County Auditor.

This meeting was filmed by Communications Research of William Penn University.

It was moved by VanWeelden seconded by Rouw to approve the agenda with the following additions: closure of road; sanitarian mail; printing of health plan booklets. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

It was moved by VanWeelden seconded by Rouw to approve the minutes of November 16<sup>th</sup>, 18<sup>th</sup> and 30<sup>th</sup>. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

It was moved by VanWeelden seconded by Rouw to approve the bills for November in the amount of \$830,257.10. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

It was moved by VanWeelden seconded by Rouw to approve the cancellation of old outstanding warrants in the amount of \$6066.56 for fiscal year 2007-2008 and warrant #52666 and #49951. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

It was moved by Rouw seconded by VanWeelden to approve the request of the Mahaska County Conservation Board to reappoint Leroy Nugteren for another five year term beginning January 1, 2010. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

It was moved by VanWeelden seconded by Rouw to approve the November 2009 monthly Veterans Affairs Commission Report. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

It was moved by Rouw seconded by Gordy to deny the request for a variance on Ordinance #127 for the property located at 3228 295<sup>th</sup> Street, Fremont. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

It was moved by VanWeelden seconded by Rouw to pay the penalty of \$37.00 on the property taxes on the property described as S 262.93' E 219.96; IRR tract Lot 1 of Lot 8 NW NE 19-75-15. All present voted aye. Motion carried. It was moved by VanWeelden seconded by Rouw to approve the Amendment #1 to the contract between Mahaska County Board of Supervisors and Area 15 Regional Planning Commission Project DR-1688-0004-00. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

It was moved by Rouw seconded by VanWeelden to approve the cost allocation plan certificate for fiscal year June 30, 2009. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

During work session with engineer: Discussion of closing of road South of New Sharon. Engineer will start work on this matter. Jerome Nusbaum, Engineer will open the mail for the Sanitarian and forward to proper department.

Brad Reiman, Bearence Management Group and Lindy A. Pearson from National Pharmaceutical Services discussed with the board a program to purchase medications at a discounted rate for the Mental Health Dept, Community Services and Jail Departments. More information is needed. They will come back at a later date.

Chairman Gordy signed the union health insurance booklet and the non-union health insurance booklet.

Canvass of the Run-off Elections for the cities of Keomah Village and Rose Hill was held. There were 101 registered voters in Keomah Village and 14 voted. Mark W. DeJong was elected to the City Council. There were 112 registered voters in Rose Hill and 36 voted. Seth Farlow was elected by write-in. It was moved by Rouw seconded by VanWeelden to approve the canvass and declare Mark W. DeJong and Seth Farlow duly elected to the city council in Keomah Village and Rose Hill. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

It was moved by Rouw seconded by VanWeelden to adjourn. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

Greg Gordy, Chairman Mahaska County Board of Supervisors

ATTEST:\_\_

Kay Swanson, Mahaska County Auditor